History

History

Le Moulin de Lecq is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty and historical significance. On the east side of Grève de Lecq bay lies Le Catel de Lecq, an ancient fort surrounded by coastland, perfect for those who enjoy walking.

Le Moulin de Lecq was formerly a fuller’s mill, with parts of the mill dating as far back as the 12th century. Le Moulin de Lecq is a historic landmark featuring the largest water wheel on the Island.

The premises was converted from a fuller’s mill into a residence in 1929. Following this and during the German Occupation of the Second World War, between 1940 and 1945, the wheel was requisitioned by the Germans to power their search lights for the North and West coast. Following the Second World War, the property became a freehouse while retaining the wheel and preserving the gearing mechanisms, which are on public display behind the main bar.

History2

The tavern is the oldest part of the premises, with original stone and woodwork features from the 12th century. The bar is built around the watermill’s cog wheels and gearing mechanisms, a unique feature that gives Le Moulin de Lecq its unique historical character.

Over the years Le Moulin de Lecq has been host to many weddings, celebrations and gatherings. Many believe its colourful history and natural location fill the premises with positive good luck properties.